Vegetarianism: Types Of Vegetarians

Worldwide, more people are interested in vegetarianism and a lot of people give up on meat and products of animal origin. “>Many moving toward a vegetarian diet because of animal welfare and the environment, or because of their own health, but in another part, vegetarians have a religious motivation or economic background.

Vegetarians accept special diet that excludes the consumption of meat (including fish and seafood). Association of vegetarians defines vegetarian as a person who is fed with grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, fruits and vegetables and can consume eggs and/or dairy products.Vegetarianism is not a transient trend as you would describe certain people, but it is a way of living and thinking, accepted and nurtured for centuries. “>Also, a vegetarian diet should not be seen as a diet to lose weight, it is the change in lifestyle that includes a new mode of feeding.

Vegetarianism includes different types of food and often comes to some confusion in the definition. You might have heard “I’m Vegan, not vegetarian” or “I am Vegetarian, but I do not eat eggs” or “I am Vegetarian, but I eat fish.” Precisely because of the different preferences of individuals who use a vegetarian diet, were several types of them are vegetarians.

Ovo-lacto-vegetarians.

Besides plant products, they consume eggs and dairy products. This group of vegetarians is the largest and when someone says that he is a vegetarian, it is assumed that he is actually ovo-lacto-vegetarian.

Ovo-vegetarians.

Besides eating plant products and eggs, they don’t consume milk and milk products.

Lacto-vegetarians.

Besides herbal products and consume milk and dairy products, they do not eat eggs.

Vegans.

Strict vegetarians who completely discarded food products of animal origin, even honey. Veganism does not mean just a special diet, but it is defined as a philosophy and lifestyle. Vegans condemn any exploitation, torture, and killing of animals, so do not wear clothes from Genuine leather and natural fur, most of them avoid products made of wool and silk and do not use products tested on animals.“Raw” vegans. Vegans that include in their diet only fresh and uncooked vegetables, fruits, nuts, legumes, seeds, grains, herbs, plant oils and fresh juices. The food can only be cooked at a temperature up to 48 ° C.

Fruitarians.

Their diet is based on fruits. Some include nuts and seeds.

Radical fruitarians.

Consume only fruits, that had fallen from the plant to the ground.nAdditionally, there is another category with other types of vegetarians, so-called Semi-vegetarians. These include fish or poultry in the diet, but no meat from mammals. Many choose this diet as a transitional step for easier adaptation to a vegetarian diet.

Pescetarians.

Besides herbal products they consume fish.

Pollotarians.

They feed with plant products but eat chicken too. Pollo pescetarians. Besides vegetables, they eat meat, poultry, and fish, or “white meat”. Association of vegetarians says is categorical that semi-vegetarians are not similar to vegetarians because vegetarianism excludes all meats. Frequently encountered another group that is associated with vegetarianism, etc.

Flexitarians (temporary or flexible vegetarians).

It is a relatively new term that describes people who mainly feed on plant foods, but occasionally eat meat. Well-planned vegetarian diet not only disturbs but also improves health. The key to a healthy vegetarian diet is eating a varied diet, with special attention towards the intake of iron, protein, vitamin B12, omega-3 fatty acids, calcium, zinc and vitamin D.